Losing consciousness over clothes

Standard

stun*

1. to deprive of consciousness or strength by or as if by a blow, fall, etc.: The blow to his jaw stunned him for a moment.

2. to astonish; astound; amaze: Her wit stunned the audience.

3. to shock; overwhelm: The world was stunned by the attempted assassination.
4. to daze or bewilder by noise.
Recently I read that Michelle Obama “stunned” in a dress she wore to a State dinner dinner. Then, today I read that Kate Middleton “stunned” in a dress she wore to a dinner. Curious I clicked on Michelle’s picture and while she indeed wore a pretty dress, I was not “stunned.” Wasn’t even close to losing my breath or consciousness, nor was I astounded at her choice of gown. It was pretty, she looked beautiful.
As I would expect. I’d have been stunned maybe if Michelle Obama showed up to the dinner in torn jeans and scuffed leather boots.
By the way I didn’t even click on Kate’s dress because I figured it was probably more traditional than “stun” worthy.
 
There was another word recently being bandied about in much the same fashion, I think it was brilliant. That word thankfully was thrown into the proverbial rubbish bin where overused words and phrases die forgotten deaths. Stunned hopefully will join brilliant very soon.
As an added note, I do have to say I have been rising at 5:15 or so and taking our lithe and fast dog for her morning jaunt. I love it.
This is a short post today, sorry. I will write more tomorrow.
*Dictionary.com
Leave a Reply

